Enough's enough!! Help me get up hills!

2»

Comments

• CharlieH
    CharlieH Posts: 410
    It will be easier to find the time through winter as I'm a wedding photographer so through summer I work around 70 hours a week Inc weekends. During winter I have lots more free time. I've got a spare set of wheels so I'm going to buy something less knobbly in the wheel dept and try to get out as much as possible, bearing in mind family commitments and a new baby
  • felix.london
    felix.london Posts: 4,067
    there is obviously a certain amount of fitness involved but as nosnevets_semaj said above, it's mostly in your head & a very important part is knowing how to breathe properly

I was big into Shaolin Kung fu a few years back and the best things I got out of that training was learning how to breath 'properly' and always being able to get more from your body - to push yourself (mind & body) - and even when you've pushed yourself there's a bit more there if needed

Put it this way - if your life (or your children's lives!) depended on it you'd get up that hill - no question

As you can imagine I have some serious 'hills' over here in the 'High' Alps - and the breathing is even more important with the lack of oxygen up here but when I'm struggling a bit I just drop a couple of gears take 10 long, deep breaths - in through your nose, try and get each breath all the way down in to your abdomen and slowly (controlled) out through your mouth - then take a mouthful of drink, focus and push on.

If you really are finding it very hard; Stop for a few minutes, take some breaths as above, rest your legs, take on some liquid and push on

Works for me anyway. the techniques I learned while kung fu training I use everyday of my life and not only when exercising - you'd be amazed how a few proper breathes can clear and focus your mind.

Wax lube on, wax lube off...
    "Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build