real axiom or tacx forteus

shocka
shocka Posts: 27
Can anyone help me? I know there have been posts regarding this before but they are quite old & I'm sure the software has changed in the trainers.
Which one do I buy? Convinced myself I was getting the real axiom then the guy in the bike shop said most people go for the tacx!
Please help! :D

Comments

• I've no knowledge of the Real Axiom - don't tend to hear much about it. Might be a reason to steer clear of it?

I've had a Tacx Fortius for a few years now and use it regularly. The front end software has been updated recently - i'm still using the original Fortius software so i can't run the latest RLV's anymore. Older users have to pay to get the new software which is now included in the box for new purchasers which i think is pretty poor customer service from Tacx. I'm not entirely sure what the new software improves upon (a bit of google earth and a nicer "look") but it does introduce a new licensing system for the RLV's to prevent piracy.

The Tacx Fortius is popular and has a lot of high quality RLV's of famous cycling climbs and routes. IMO it only replicates climbs under 10% gradient properly although it may claim otherwise. New RLV's of ever increasing quality are made available periodically - usually in the autumn each year and cost around £30.

It can also do Virtual Reality courses and online racing but i've never used them. It can also be used a s a standard turbo if you wish.

The newer Bushido might be a better bet as it is wireless and i think can be operated without a PC if you wish and it can do everything the Fortius can.

I've certainly not regretted buying the Fortius. i enjoy riding the RLV routes and can easily spend over 2/3 hours on it. I couldn't hack a standard turbo at all. In the winter it's a real bonus when the weather is poor.