What's your average speed?

beduffrich
beduffrich Posts: 61
edited September 2011 in Commuting general
I'm new to this commuting lark (2 weeks), I have a Boardman Hybrid team and I'm managing 14.6mph average over 4.7 or 7.3mile commute (depending on route).

What Bike do you use for the commute and what's your average speed?

http://www.justgiving.com/Richardarnold93
Commuter: Boardman Hybrid Team 2011

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    edited September 2011
    Based on my last uploads to Garmin Connect in the middle of August; average speed 18.9mph and average moving speed 19.7mph. However, that was on a Tuesday so I'd revise them both down by 0.5mph to take Friday legs into account.

Oh, it's on a carbon road bike which I think is a Trek, and it's 21 miles each way.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    I use a carbon road bike and over 15 miles tend to average around 18mph on the way in, 17mph on the way home which is slightly uphill. I don't really have any traffic lights or junctions to contend with though.
    MTB/CX

"As I said last time, it won't happen again."
  • Well I do my 22 km commute in about an hour, but then again it depends on weather, red lights, how tired I am etc. So about 13.5 mph on average, but like I say that is quite variable.

Oh, and thats on my 6 year old hybrid with Schwalbe marathon plus tour tyres (no punctures for me :) ).
  • 15mph commuting
    18mph training

And not a single flat section of road on my entire commute, over every surface there is including cobbles but that's the Pennines for you.
    'nulla tenaci invia est via'
    FCN4
    Boardman HT Pro fully X0'd
    CUBE Peleton 2012
    Genesis Aether 20 all season commuter
  • PO Paul
    PO Paul Posts: 114
    10.5 miles, averaging 14 mph on a Trek 1.9 road bike
  • mmuk
    mmuk Posts: 398