I really need to stop spending

joelsim
joelsim Posts: 7,552
edited September 2011 in Commuting chat
I know I'm a noob to the cycling commute this year and therefore obviously some kit needs to be purchased, but for some reason I can't stop spending, even though I'm skint at the moment. Pretty much all of what I have bought has been on a deal of some sort, typically half price or thereabouts, but still.. my credit card man is rubbing his hands and I've never been one for using a credit card before!

So far have bought.

Boardman Hybrid Pro
Conti gator hardshells
Shimano clipless
DHB shoes
2 pairs of padded lycra shorts
2 Rapha long sleeved polos
3 Rapha base layers
1 Icebreaker base layer
2 On-one merino tops
Gore Oxygen bib tights
Gore Vista tights
Rapha beanie
2 sets of Cat Eye lights
2 Knog lights
Altura windproof yellow jacket
Catlike helmet
Endura Venturi jacket
Endura overtrousers
2 good locks
Track pump
Spare tube
Puncture repair kit
2 bottles, one insulated for coffees in winter

And that's just the stuff I can remember off the top of my head.

Help, I'm turning into the cycling Imelda Marcos!

Comments

• You wasted your money on the overtrousers. I bought a pair years ago and never wore them. :wink:
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • Cafewanda
    Cafewanda Posts: 2,788
    I really wouldn't worry about it at the moment, I'm in the same boat :shock:

Mind you, the sales are always the best times to buy stuff you should have bought the previous year/need for the coming year/fancy the look of 8)

In any event, we are doing out bit for the economy :lol:
  • jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    This happens.

About to pull the trigger on stuff I don't *really* need
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506