Long commutes

Comments

• I changed to a 32 miles per day commute in June. So not as far as you but still enough.

My previous commute was 100 miles per week, this is 160.

i am yet to manage a full 5 day week on the bike - mainly due business trips. So have generally done Mon / Tues & Thu / Fri with Wed as a rest day from the cycle.

It has worked so far, and I hope in next week or so to do all five days.
  • I have been doing 30 miles a day for the last 4 months.

I too was sufferring with cold feet, tried Sealskins socks, they made it a little better but not much. Bought some NW Farenheits for winter but used them back end of last week and they really did improve, wore with normal socks and was pretty warm. These are really nice shoes/boots can see me weraring them right up till April May next year

Again my rides is a little over 500ft each way, and find the decending at speed, wind chill on sweat means I get cold, but warm up again so not too worried about that. Morning without a doubt feel colder than the "advertised" temp, with my commute the prevailing wind in the morning is a headwind so I think that plays a part.

My main problem is the same as Prawny, racing against the clock. Mine is so bad I have (like most people I guess) check points I know the time I "should" be at a certain point it drives me mad! Thursday I did the first 4 miles in a really good time (hitting that important chack point early) so spent the next 11 miles going flat out to try and break the record, only got my second fastest time and worse still drove in on Friday because my legs were fecked.

I have tried minus the Garmin, but that makes it worse. I just cannot seem to do it at 60-70% effort I seem to do it at 75-90% effort and if I sense a good time I am flat out.

Genuinely this is the biggest problem with me commuting and by Thursday my legs are really feeling it.