Long commutes

graeme_s-2
graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
edited December 2012 in Commuting general
I've been commuting 5-6 miles each way for a few years in all weathers now (even equipping a bike with ice tyres last winter). Due to our new house not being ready until December and the buyer of our current house wanting to be in before the end of August I'm facing just over 4 months of commuting ~20 miles each way. I've got about 3 weeks to prepare for this, so any tips or things I should consider before nearly quadrupling my commuting mileage?

These also happen to be some of my busiest months at work. On the one hand I'm quite excited by this, on the other I'm a bit daunted by the considerable increase in daily distance.

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Would be sensible to build up to that distance. How you do it is up to you.

Expect to be tired for a while, too and make sure you eat properly.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • I went from nothing to the same distance
    Currently twice a week after a 9hrs hard day.going for three this week !!
    Biggest thing i would say is extra sleep may be required.
    I leave myself extra time in the morning to recover LOL
    Not that bad but bad enough for me
    Route1.jpg
  • Whilst the daylight is good I have been doing 40miles hilly round trip most days of the week on the back of long hours.

It becomes part of the norm and although it is more gradually tiring than I expected once you get into the swing of it it is only just over an hour of exercise at a time-so enjoy!

Only wish I could do it in the winter.
  • graeme_s-2
    I haven't checked properly yet, but I don't anticipate it will be hilly. I'm a triathlete and do a reasonable weekly mileage with some long rides, though dont usually manage 200 miles a week. I think building my weekly mileage over the next few weeks is probably a very good idea!
  • Chris`I