Is there a true 21st Century Touring bike..?

2»

Comments

• andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    I suspect your Suntour forks are tougher than you think ('service intervals - you mean I'm supposed to service them?') but in any case, if the weight is being carried on the axle/fork leg then I don't think it's actually going to increase the pressure when the fork is compressed (OK. if I was an engineer I'd probably say that it would affect the total momentum of the bike when it hits an obstacle so it must have some indirect effect on the forces acting through the fork).
  • Hoopdriver
    Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023
    An aside here but why do people tour with suspension forks? I don't get it. It is just one more thing to have to maintain on the road and hope stays in good repair, and really, do you need it? It seems to me people were doing bicycle tours all over the world, and for a very, very long time (myself included) without such fiddly things and somehow getting by just fine.
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    flester wrote:
    I'd day a Ti frame rides pretty nicely??

It rides very well. No other experience of Ti, but these were designed to be comfortable when fully loaded, so are over-designed for day rides. This leaves them stiffer than what I understand normal Ti tubes would be, they feel more akin to my old alu boardman with carbon forks.

So great at touring, great at day rides.
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • mz__jo
    mz__jo Posts: 398
    andymiller wrote: