Post ride nutrition...

Simon1890
Simon1890 Posts: 117
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to nutrition side of cycling, i've always had sports drinks during the ride (used to be off the supermarket shelf Lucozade stuff, now moved on to SIS) but i've never really used gels, bars or shakes before...

My main thing is with SIS recovery shakes, i'm unsure when to take them!

Under what circumstances is it wrong/right to have a recovery shake?
At the moment i don't always have one, i only have one after a longer ride out on the road, or after a hard turbo training session (like one of the 'Sufferfest' videos)....is this about right?

Any advice on what's right/wrong with when to take recovery shakes please?

Thanks

S

Comments

• rock_hopper
    rock_hopper Posts: 129
    Don't think there is any hard and fast rule really, just get some good nutrition into your body within 30 minutes of finishing your training. I usually use a recovery drink after hard training/races as it's been shown that your body absorbs liquid food quicker than solid food. Makes sense really, your saving your body the job of breaking the food down. Chocolate milk is a good alternative to more expensive recovery products, it has worked for me.
  • you need protein for muscle reparir.

but...

eating the protein with high GI carbs (sugars) shuttles the protein through the system faster than normal.

but...

carbs get used with water so you need enough liquids with the carbs to make them 'work'. otherwise the carbs dehydrate you by sucking in the water from inside your body.

but...

too much liquid without electrolytes wont hydrate you properly and you can spend a lot of time in the bathroom if you dont PACE it.

so...

you can only take on so much protein, carbs and water per hour. recovery drinks conveniently combine all of the right proportions for those who dont know about the science.

http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/articl ... des-23620/
  • Thick Tester
    Thick Tester Posts: 380