Summer Training Program

TomParker1
TomParker1 Posts: 35
Hey guys,

I've been getting really into road cycling recently since having a chance bike ride with some neighbours. I'm all set with my gear and i've been commuting to and from campus each day a few times a day as well as going for rides around Birmingham where I can.

This summer, i want to use the bike as a tool to get into really good shape. I've got from July 1st until October until i go back to university to myself so i've got all the time in the world to fit in a good training program.

I'm 6'4, 101kgs and about 23% body fat mass. I'm looking to get dwn to about 15% and improve my CV - which i believe is a really achievable goal as long as i get the right program. I used to play rugby to a good level but an accumulation of head injuries forced me to give it up and in the last couple of years i've really piled on the pounds (though i've always been a 'big' guy) - I'm hoping this is where you come in!

I'm a total noob when it comes to these things. Can you give me a hand in creating a training program to suit my needs?

I'm also not naive about the importance of diet - in the last month since i've been on the bike i've introduced a much more balanced diet and i'm started to see and feel the improvements as it is; i just know it could be better with a well informed program.

Thanks in advance guys,

Tom

Comments

• P_Tucker
    P_Tucker Posts: 1,878
    You don't need a "training program" (sic) - you're not training for anything in particular. Just ride your bike (or do other exercise) as often as you can. If having a schedule motivates you, then make one up.
  • TomParker1
    Hey,

Sorry for the misuse of cycling grammar - as i said i'm still new to this! So is as often as possible the best way or should i limit myself to x amount of times a week?
  • ut_och_cykla
    ut_och_cykla Posts: 1,594