£500 to spend at halfords

Gdclay
Gdclay Posts: 15
edited June 2011 in MTB beginners
Right so my conpanys doing this cycle to work scheme and ive got £500 to spend at halfords, im new to mountain biking but from what ive read of peoples opinions halfords arnt much cop, is their anything worth buying there? Ive looked at the voodoo hoodoo but cant find many reviews on them, also they have some carreras there very cheap but unsure on them either, im after a hardtail any suggestions or just not bother! Cheers

Comments

• GPierotti
    GPierotti Posts: 104
    It all depends on the type of riding you are going to do. The voodoo doesnt look bad, best bet is to see the bike in person have a feel of them and see what suits you best.
    A lot of people on here seem to use carrera bikes and seem to enjoy them. if its for british trail centers then most hardtails with disc brakes are a good starting point.
  • shm_uk
    shm_uk Posts: 683
    Might be worth reading this for an overview of some sub-£500 mountain bikes:
    http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/article/best-mountain-bikes-under-500-29451/

I wouldn't necessarily be put off buying a bike from Halfords BUT be aware that they have a very hit-and-miss track record regarding technical knowledge/abilities regarding bikes.... i.e. some are pretty dire if you have questions or need the bike setting up properly...

If you let us know where you're located somebody on the forum may be able to tell you if there's a local Halfords's that's one of the good ones.
  • shm_uk
    ... forgot to say: I'd avoid the VooDoo & Apollo branded bikes in Halfords
  • Gdclay
    Thanks for the replys both, im in solihull, birmingham, ive just been told halfords will get me any bike do you know if this is true, i hope it is as i had been eyeing up a specialized hardrock disc as ive been told by many people this is a great bike to start?
  • piker
    piker Posts: 353
    shm_uk wrote:

Can understand avoiding apollo bikes but why Voodoo?