Friday Debate - AV Referendum 5th May

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,391
    DonDaddyD wrote:
    Interesting...

Marko Djurdjevic He was self taught. ...<snip>

Well that first one (Morgan le Fay) illustrates my point quite well: her face looks a bit masculine to me, which I'm guessing isn't quite the intention. The Alex Rose pics do exaggerate the normal proportions, but the arms still look as though they belong. It's quite a subtle thing, and even Old Masters played around with anatomy when picture composition required it. I think it boils down to whether the distortion or exaggeration adds to the compositional balance of the picture or distracts - i.e. something just doesn't look quite right.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • tailwindhome
    tailwindhome Posts: 19,354
    I asked my best mate to clarify things for me (he is very Politically active.. VP of the CEP now (I think!))

His reply based on a convenient set of numbers to be able to sell his story.

FTFY
    “New York has the haircuts, London has the trousers, but Belfast has the reason!
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756
    But the extremist candidate D is eliminated first. Knowing this will happen and also his own weak position, C has pandered to the extremist's position and thus gained the second preferences from his voters.

Hmmm, I disagree with this perceived flaw. Shirley all the candidates will have the prescience to "pander to the extremist's position" if it would help them win the election. And if the Extremist's position is really so unpalatable as to leave them with only 4% of the vote, then I doubt Candidate C will gain much from the rest of the electorate by pandering to it.