New To Spd's

Muz81
Muz81 Posts: 4
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi

I have been riding my mountain bike seriously for the past 5 years and thought why not go down the route of spd pedals/ shoes.

It was my first ride out today with spd's and it was great on the road, got used to them real quickly on the road, BUT when i went off road it didnt go so well, I was only on a beaten track nothing too hardcore and it didnt seem natural at all to be clipped in to the bike, felt totally wrong infact, feel like i may have made a big mistake. I felt like doing a little jump here and there but didnt feel confident being clipped in and leaving the ground.

Is it a case that i need to just get used to riding off road clipped in, or would you say its bad practise and better to be in normal shoes and standard pedals when riding off road!

any advice would be grately appreciated!

Thanks

Muz

Comments

• piker
    piker Posts: 353
    Where you not happy with flats,i ask because i keep thinking maybe spds are worth trying,but then i ride bits of trail and think i really woudn't want to be clipped in here.
    But i also think most spd shoe styles are better suited to wet british riding.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    If you want to try them, give them a few rides. If you're still not happy, bin them and go back to flats.
  • Muz81
    piker wrote:
    Where you not happy with flats,i ask because i keep thinking maybe spds are worth trying,but then i ride bits of trail and think i really woudn't want to be clipped in here.
    But i also think most spd shoe styles are better suited to wet british riding.