Increasing Stamina

TMR
TMR Posts: 3,986
Sorry for the generic question, I realise the answer to this is probably fairly open. I am a road cycling noob, have enjoyed mountain biking for years, did the C2C last year and a 65 mile sportive and have recently got my first road bike. I've been out 3 times now, and while I have some power I am really lacking stamina. I'd like to build up from 1.5 hour rides to 4-5 hour rides (for 100m sportives), but I'd like to be able to go fairly quickly throughout.

What's the best way to do this?

My training currently consists of two rides a weekend (the Sunday one with a very fit friend who pushes me hard), using the exercise bike at the gym on Mondays and Wednesdays for 30 mins of Strength Training and Spinning Class for 45 mins on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    Gradually increase the distance of your rides. I would suggest doing longer sessions during the week as well, but that comes down to how much time you have available. Your stamina will improve as you get fitter, and as you get the body used to doing longer rides.

I think some 1-2 hour hard tempo rides help with both endurance and power, and are quite easy to fit in after work, especially now as it is getting lighter in the evenings.
  • TMR
    SBezza wrote:
    Gradually increase the distance of your rides. I would suggest doing longer sessions during the week as well, but that comes down to how much time you have available. Your stamina will improve as you get fitter, and as you get the body used to doing longer rides.

I think some 1-2 hour hard tempo rides help with both endurance and power, and are quite easy to fit in after work, especially now as it is getting lighter in the evenings.

Thanks for that. I work in the City and my commute is 1.5 hours each way. I usually get home around 7 PM in the evenings, so by the time I've helped put our baby to bed I'd be 8 PM and then my wife would be wanting dinner.