average speeds etc...

2»

Comments

• cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    JonGinge wrote:
    An 18mph average for a 30m solo ride is good going.

Yep, excellent progress.
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • pianoleo
    pianoleo Posts: 135
    NGale,

I've been running one of these for about 5 months:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/BICYCLE-HANDLEB ... B001SZZK1A

Given my bars are a bit narrower in the middle than at the ends, it's been known to work its way towards the middle of the bars and droop (probably my fault for not tightening the cable ties sufficiently - I bought a pack of 50 from a 99p shop), but it's never fallen off, never felt loose and has always held the iPhone securely. The actual phone holder is easy to unclip and take away with you, but not without meaning to!

Just a few thoughts about Cyclemeter:

Even with stop detection on, it's not terribly quick at realising you've stopped (or started again), so the Avg speeds are often not quite right. Given it uses GPS, it drains your battery fairly quickly. As to the calorie estimation, it's WAY off, at least compared to what my Cateye V3 tells me (it's generally about 20% higher than what my Cateye calculates from my heart rate). Obviously a HRM never gives an accurate calorie count either...

Anyway, apart from those points, Cyclemeter's brilliant - I used to use it all the time.
  • jimmypippa
    jimmypippa Posts: 1,712
    mudcow007 wrote:
    i like the idea of racing my self, that sounds a winner via a garmin

i dont think i have any particular reasons for wanting to go fast...i think i just do, plus i dont like being over taken by kids on bmx's (what are thier FCN's?)

i think part of the issue around here is lack of other cyclists any that i do see are either:

A. a scally wag on a stolen GT

B. olderly chap wearing cord trousers

C. elderly women with shopping in the basket on the front of the bike