average speeds etc...

mudcow007
mudcow007 Posts: 3,861
edited March 2011 in Commuting chat
i have ridden bikes most of my life but tend to take long breaks off. this year i started riding again on the 7th Jan but the time before that was July last year (ive done 597.71 miles so far)

i understand speed and average speeds etc all come down to fitness, equipment and food. but how long does it take to start noticing increases in speeds

on my mtb with marathon + im comfortable at 14mph and was keeping up with a lycra clad roadie the other night at 19mph (ish)

when im riding alone i tend to slow down until i see someone in the distant, then it becomes a chase, which speeds me up

i want to go faster!!!
Keeping it classy since '83

Comments

• If you want to go faster, go faster - eventually your fitness and strength will catch up. If you can go 19 mph, why settle for 14?

Oh, and buy a road bike, you know it makes sense.
  • SimonAH
    SimonAH Posts: 3,730
    ^+1
    FCN 5 belt driven fixie for city bits
    CAADX 105 beastie for bumpy bits
    Litespeed L3 for Strava bits

Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756
    Oh, and buy a road bike, you know it makes sense.

+1 You'll get much more speed out of the effort you put in if you're on a road bike :)
  • suzyb
    suzyb Posts: 3,449
    Surely if you don't have the fitness or speed you wont be able to go faster :?
  • mudcow007
    i think its lazyness to be honest, like this morning i was plodding along (about 10mph) because of the headwind then a guy goes past on a road bike so i catch up an stay behind him, not drafting but keeping pace around 16mph

i think i need to man up

is it good to ride as fast as you can for say 1/2 a mile then slow down to recover then repeat etc?
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,403