Fitness & Training Software - SportTracks?

Avezius
Avezius Posts: 132
I'm in my second year of cycling regularly & I'm also a bit of a technology geek (my trade is IT development) so it was only a matter of time before I went GPS to record rides! I opted for a Forerunner305 for it's nice sweet spot between functionality & cost.

Anyway, for the last month Ive been trying out different software for reviewing & analysing the data, for the purposes of monitoring my fitness through the year & just generally because I can. I'm starting this year from quite a low fitness base after a crash last October so particularly interested in measure of fitness over time.

I really wanted a web based solution (accessible anywhere on any device, location) but didnt want to compromise on cool analysis graphs.

In my opinion, the basic Garmin client software is rubbish. The web offering (GarminConnect) is good but doesn't have many graphical or analysis tools other than the basics - A few more & it would probably be my favourite.

SportTracks is great - once you get the hand of the quirky interface & I like the idea that it's expandable with plugins (plus I like the idea that I could build something myself too - not that I have the time or ideas, but thats not the point!). I don't like the way it's fat client & I have to maintain data on multiple systems.

I'm seriously considering buying the full version of SportTracks3, but will probably also maintain garminconnect (and the simple mycyclinglog.com) for visibility.

So - What does everyone else use AND of you use SportTracks - what are the features you really like?

Thanks

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    I use Sport tracks, I find it does everything I need, and more, but I guess the training load plugin I find most usefull.