My (very slow) Average Speeds

Baldgerry
Baldgerry Posts: 12
edited February 2011 in Road beginners
I've just read the willy waving thread about internet average speeds and though I would post my own slow speeds for other beginners to see.

I'm a 49 year old male, just shy of 16 stone, ex smoker and I've not sat on a bike since I started learning to drive in 1978. I used to run 2 or 3 times a week at the gym but haven't done any exercise as such for about 3 1/2 years.

I bought myself a Specialized Secteur Sport for Christmas and have been out a few times now (getting better since I bought padded shorts!) and have used Endomondo on my phone to log any improvements, My first ride was;

Distance 4.84 miles
Duration 28m:27s
Avg Speed 10.2 mph

My second;
Distance 5.77 miles
Duration 31m:18s
Avg Speed 11.1 mph

And my most recent;
Distance 6.68 miles
Duration 32m:45s
Avg Speed 12.2 mph

So for those of you who read and believed all the "I can do 80 miles at an average of 25mph etc etc etc" posts, maybe you're not as slow as you thought!

Comments

• chunkytfg
    chunkytfg Posts: 358
    At that rate you only need to get out 8 times more to hit a 20mph average 8)

Seriously though we all started somewhere and give it time your distances will increase as will your average speed.
    FCN 7

FCN 4

if you use irrational measures to measure me, expect me to behave irrationally to measure up
  • Stuy-b
    Stuy-b Posts: 248
    *waves willy*

58 miles
    17.07 av speed
    3 and a half hours

The stats from today's ride.

*puts willy away*

as stated we all started somewhere and as long as your enjoying riding then thats all that matters, speed and fitness will both come with time.

Stuy
  • springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    It's not been a month yet and the times/distances are improving no end.

As above. You'll be amazed how quickly these times and distances will improve.
    Simon
  • danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877