Training with ankle weights...

trtimothy
trtimothy Posts: 117
edited February 2011 in Training, fitness and health
Hi,

Basically I saw a pair of good low profile ankle weights quite cheap and was wondering if they're any good for cycling. Has anyone trained wearing a pair? Do they make you a stronger rider?

Thanks for any advice

Comments

• sub55
    sub55 Posts: 1,025
    The first thing that you should remember is your performance on the bike is governed by your cardio vascular system, and not strength.
    Second thing to think about is weight ,if you add weight to either yourself or the bike it will slow you down. If you do your training in terms of time ,it will have no effect what so ever. If you do your training in terms of miles i.e your commute to work , there may be some benefit as it will take you longer to get from A to B. So your doing more training.

Once used ankle weights all winter, though not on the bike; at work. I work in the building trade so im on my feet all day long ,up and down ladders etc. Whether it helped or not ,i have no idea. As there are many other aspects to a winter training programme. But was working on the basis that it could`nt do me any harm.
    constantly reavalueating the situation and altering the perceived parameters accordingly
  • if you are trying to get stronger, ride in a harder gear. Simples :D
    Specialized Langster
    Specialized Enduro Expert
    Specialized Rockhopper

This season I will be mainly riding a Specialized
  • a_n_t
    a_n_t Posts: 2,011
    there's about 3 strength v power threads going on at the moment.

Just ride your bike.
    Manchester wheelers

PB's
    10m 20:21 2014
    25m 53:18 20:13
    50m 1:57:12 2013
    100m Yeah right.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337