Requests for iPhone training apps

carlosnashos
carlosnashos Posts: 43
Hey all

I'm a fourth year computing student just starting my honours project.
I hope to develop some kind of bike training application for the iPhone/iPad...but a bit different than most of the existing ones out at the moment.

From what I've seen, most of the existing apps are used to track routes and save a history of times, distance, speed, etc.
What I thought about doing was to create an app which helps to train and motivate the rider using pre-set or user customised training sessions.
One problem that I can see with this idea is - depending on the type of cycling the rider is doing (road, off-road, indoor trainer, track), the training delivery method may need to change.
For instance, a road cyclist may prefer to rely on visuals to deliver the training sessions steps through the mobile device display; or they may prefer to have audio commands via a single earphone?
If the user is on a stationary trainer or rollers then they may be able to take full advantage and use a more complex display and audio method.

Whichever method is most suitable, the basic idea I had was to:

allow the user to select the type of cycling (road, off-road, track, etc.)
    specify intensity, duration, distance, etc.
    specify a min/max or average cadence they wish to achieve which could be delivered via flashes or beeps as preferred
    possibly to allow the app to select music where the bpm matches the desired cadence (more suitable for trainer use)
    provide pre-set training programmes to choose from
    the user would be advised of the gear to select and cadence required depending on their training specifications

There are numerous possibilities which could also be incorporated if sensors were used on the bike and the rider such as wheel speed, cadence, temperature, heart rate, calculated or actual power output.