Help with training programme for Dunwich Dynamo

paulr69
paulr69 Posts: 9
Hi all,

I'm looking for a bit of help in devising a training programme for the Dunwich Dynamo.

For those that don't know, the Dunwich Dynamo is a annual night ride from London to Dunwich, next due to take place on July 16/17 2011 (as close to a full moon & mid-summer as possible to get maximum light).

The distance is 200 km (125 miles). It's not a race, and I'm not too bothered about how fast I do it, I'm more worried just about getting it done.

A little about me - I'm a commuter in London. I do 40 - 80 miles a week by doing either between 4 & 8 trips of about 10 miles each way (2, 3 or 4 days depending on other stuff going on). As it's London it's relatively stop/start, though I do push myself when I can on the longer stretches. I've been commuting for about 18 months, I've kept it during the autumn and winter (apart from when it's particularly icy). I'm relatively fit though that's about all the cardio exercise I do in a week.

Currently I don't do any other riding but want to do more and know that I'd have to do some longer trips before the big DD.

So do I need a plan? Or do I just need to be bloody minded and keep at it? Any help welcome!

Comments

• jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    You could ride it tomorrow - well probably not you'd get cold, you'd hit some ice etc. but if it was tomorrow on a warm summers evening you could ride it tomorrow.

Obviously with more longer rides under your belt then you'll ride it more comfortably but you don't need a training plan.
    Jibbering Sports Stuff: http://jibbering.com/sports/
  • finnj6
    finnj6 Posts: 45
    You don't need a training plan for cycles like that but setting goals and milestones will help you become fit and stay fit for the event. Like setting a certain amount of distance for each month and how long your rides will be each week working up to a distance greater than the event so your ready for any surprises.