Puncture-Proof Tyres

2»

Comments

• +1 for marathon + nearly 8000 miles without a puncture and the only tire ive ever used that lasted longer than the rim it was attached to....
    Dolan Preffisio
    2010 Cube Agree SL
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The PO bikes are all on Marathon+, and you don't see posties with a tube and pump......

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • chris_bass
    chris_bass Posts: 4,913
    hi

i'm going to need some new tyres soon too, i'm a bit of a road tyre novice though and have been using mountain bike knobblies for way too long now!!

it seems like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tyres are getting a lot of votes but i've had a look and there are lots of different types! as i'm new to the whole road tyre thing which ones should i go for? my commute is all on road but i'd like a bit of grip on the tyre (just to mnake myself feel better really!)
    www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes
  • Chris Bass wrote:
    hi

i'm going to need some new tyres soon too, i'm a bit of a road tyre novice though and have been using mountain bike knobblies for way too long now!!

it seems like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tyres are getting a lot of votes but i've had a look and there are lots of different types! as i'm new to the whole road tyre thing which ones should i go for? my commute is all on road but i'd like a bit of grip on the tyre (just to mnake myself feel better really!)

For road commuting I use the reflective Marathon plus like these ones. I like the reflective sidewall strips and the puncture proofing seems to really work well.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=24542

I've not used the Dureme model but reviews from other people indicated these were 'faster' then the Marathon pluses.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=48774