what is a good time for a 20 mile 30 k ride

reacher
reacher Posts: 416
edited April 2014 in Road beginners
guys i'm new to cycling so i need some help , i'm training in the gym but i will be on my new bike over xmas , not haveing cycled before i'm working on my fitness in the gym first ,
what would be considered a reasonable time for a 20 mile ride? 30k approx
one of the guys in the gym who is 42 do's this on a undulating course in around 1 hour , but he says if he goes at it he can do it in 50 mins
i'm 52 and will be racing him over this course , question is , is this a hard time to beat or compete against ?
or moderate ?

Comments

• inseine
    inseine Posts: 5,788
    Read the post in training titled speed over 30miles.

and ignore it all :roll:
  • reacher
    whats it say ? i cant find it
  • reacher
    found it , i'm none the wiser , is it a good time or average ? , its not a flat course thats for sure ,
    plenty of up an down no major hills though ,
    are they saying 20 mph is good
  • i'd think that a 20mph average is good going on an undulating course.

if he does 20 miles in 50 minutes on an undulating course, he's pretty fast & you will lose the race.

i started off on shorter distances at slower averages. i can do 10 miles in 30 mins, but wouldn't have been able to when i first got the bike. i'm 40.

let us know how it goes :D
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841

I think the conclusion is, it depends...!
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    It's under TRAINING "speed over 30 miles" That should give you a rough idea but remember that we all cycle at different levels of pace and reality.
  • RonB
    RonB Posts: 3,984
    I think it means that "average" is a pretty meaningless term since there are so many variables going on in a ride, but 20 mph is good on an undulating course if you're out on your own & on a road (non TT bike).