Why Do You Cycle ?

shm_uk
shm_uk Posts: 683
edited October 2010 in Commuting chat
With all the initiaitives designed to get more people to become more active, everyone's always clattering on with phrases like 'riding a bike is an excellent way to improve your fitness' ...

I was wondering how many people start riding a bike purely because they feel the need to do the exercise ?

Or do you ride a bike because you enjoy it, and the fitness benefits are a convenient side-effect ?

(I guess the third option is that you ride a bike through absolute necessity and would stop at the drop of a hat given the chance).

Comments

• Pep
    Pep Posts: 501
    Walking takes too long.
  • Agent57
    Agent57 Posts: 2,300
    I started riding a bike when I was about 4 years old, then as I got to 7 or 8 it became the best way of getting around independently and seeing my friends. Used it for fun, doing my paper round, going to the shops, visiting my nan, getting to school. Now I use it for recreation, nipping to the shops, getting to work... Just never stopped using a bike.
    MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)
  • I started because we needed to economise and the £4.20 a day to park at the station (plus petrol, wear and tear etc) was an obvious thing to cut out.

I wouldn't stop now, though. Now I know it is commutable, I feel like I'm letting myself down whenever i don't do it.
    Summer: 2012 Trek Madone 3.5
    Winter: 2013 Trek Crockett 5
  • Many reasons really, in no particular order.
    * Cheaper than car (which I sold when I got my bike)
    * Fitness - its perfect training for my main sport of sailing
    * Quickest way to get to work - 10-15min ride depending on how fast I can be asked to go. Car takes at least 20min, worst days about an hour due to traffic, buses take at least 45min as no direct route.
    * Wakes me up for the day and then refreshes me on the way home after a day of staring at a screen.