Reasons why I'm faster than you in rank order

Comments

• SamWise72
    SamWise72 Posts: 453
    I could post a picture of my calves, which are frankly terrifying in their scale and threat level.

Better?
    MiniLogo-1.jpg
    http://www.velochocolate.co.uk Special Treats for Lifestyle Cyclists

From FCN from 8 (road bike, beard, bag, work clothes) to 15 (on my Brompton)
  • tailwindhome
    tailwindhome Posts: 19,355
    DonDaddyD wrote:
    SamWise72 wrote:
    The more of this I read, the more depressed it makes me. I don't know if you read the Silly Commuting Racing thread, but the word "Silly" should be emphasized. I'm not an olympic athlete, I'm not a professional bike racer, or even a serious amateur. I just ride to work, and it's fun to ride faster than anyone else. Maybe you're faster than me, under certain circumstances, and that's fine. Your quote, however, is silly, isn't it? That's like a marathon runner telling a sprinter his ability is less worthwhile.

Maybe I'm faster down Kingsway and over Waterloo Bridge than you, maybe not. I'll bust my lungs trying to be, and then if I'm not, that's ok. And if I am, and you're faster over 50 miles, that's ok too. Chris Hoy may think that being fast over a short distance has a value, BTW, but that's not the point. If you don't get the irony in the bike hero posts, including mine, that go on here, you've missed the point.

What the are you backing down!

For a second there I thought we had another alpha male on the website. Seems like I'm still the only one.

+1

What are you, a man or a mouse?
    “New York has the haircuts, London has the trousers, but Belfast has the reason!
  • Stuey01
    Stuey01 Posts: 1,273
    SamWise72 wrote:
    I could post a picture of my calves, which are frankly terrifying in their scale and threat level.

Better?
    calves-first.jpg
    Not climber, not sprinter, not rouleur
  • SamWise72
    Mooooo
    MiniLogo-1.jpg

• lae
    lae Posts: 555
    I'm a bit late but -