Argument with LBS

13»

Comments

• Are you just winging that you didn't get a price agreed before hand & then weren't happy with what they charged?

Attacking people for breaking down what's in a labour charge & then saying it should be included in the price (which it obviously was as otherwise the breakdown wouldn't be needed) makes no sense.

I also have no problems with a workshop having a minimum charge. They are in the business to make money after all.

BTW for what its worth, I used to be in the motor trade & my bonus was calculated on the difference between the book times & how quick I could do the job.
    Statistically, Six Out Of Seven Dwarves Aren't Happy
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    But making money on a service is just as viable as making money by selling products, is it not?
    I hope so as that's how I make my living! :D

But anyway, it all comes down to what they want to charge and what the customer is prepared to pay. Obviously many customers are prepared to cough up as they are not prepared to do it themselves. Much the same as getting your car serviced. Is it a rip off? That's down to you and how you value the service you are getting for the money. The charge based on the time it takes is just a way of accounting for jobs. It's really about the value of the service provided. If you think it's over priced you can vote with your feet, but you need enough people to do that to drive prices down.
  • cooldad wrote:
    My whole point was that the end customer should nto be compensating for overheads, they are built into the price via markup and such, and we should not be compensating any more than we do to keep the business afloat. I won't be any extra because the mechanic or whoever is booking something in is being slow about doing their job. It can be done in a reasonable amount of time, and I won't pay any extra due to laziness.
    Service charges are included in that "and such".