Specific Training for Hills?

lucan
lucan Posts: 339
edited September 2010 in Training, fitness and health
I've been cycling for about 4-5 months with a local club. In three weeks the club are holding a Hill Climb competition on one of our local steep slopes and I've decided to give it a go. I could use some advice on the best way to prepare and how to ride it. Nothing hugely ambitious as it is divided into classes as per the Sunday rides, so I'll be in the slowest group. The competition is against the clock so I won't be able to pace off anyone else.

Firstly, the hill is a mile long, starting off gradually and then ramping up over the last third. I'm not sure of the gradient but I need my lowest gear to tackle almost the whole of the final third. Total climb is 100metres.

I rode it today (only the second time I've ever ridden it) and felt OK on the first ascent although I was obviously quite slow as I was grinding my lowest gear for a long time. I then rode it again three more times but didn't get to the top, turning round and cruising back to the bottom after half of the steepest part. Now, should I have really pushed to get two full ascents or would one complete and three almosts have been better training?

Second question - on the day, do I go off slowly and hope I've got something left to sprint the last short section when it stops being as steep, or will I be quicker overall to push on at the bottom where it's not so steep (for quite a distance). Somehow, I don't think I'll gain much time on the short top section compared to the time I could lose on the longer bottom section by taking it easy there.

I plan to ride it regularly over the next few weeks to help me get stronger and to learn the hill.
Any advice would be gratefully received.
Summer: Kuota Kebel
Winter: GT Series3

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    It's all about the pacing. Go off too hard and you'll die at the end. Too slow - and you won't get a fast time.