WMB Awards Special anyone else disagree - Supersonic?

TowerRider
TowerRider Posts: 430
edited September 2010 in MTB general
I received my copy of What Mountain Bike yesterday and while flicking through the mag I noticed the awards article. I am not an expert but from weekly visits to this forum (where Supersonic is regular) I can see a few awards are not worthy.
Supersonic, did you have any input? I presume not, could you tell those (I see list on p45) that gave the awards that they do not reflect the usual findings on here.

I can't comment on many of the awards because I do not have any or enough knowledge but...
Best Value sadle - thought this was Charge Spoon.
Best Tyre/value Maxxis High Roller?
Gloves?
Helmet?
Best Gadget Runner Up given to IPhone - come on, you would have to be a numpty to use (not in backpack) that while mountain biking re moisture sensors and damage if uninsured like many. Only need to look at forum to see iphone users get ripped into.
Pedals, best flats goes to DMR V8 - everyone knows that Wellgo Mg1's win this cateogory and to add to that you buy them from Highonbikes....

This led me to wonder if the awards are given based on where you can buy them, why is that info added? adds no benefit to the user.

Now I am not sure of the other awards and realise alot may be personal preferance but these awards seem totally pointless.

Comments

• All awards and reviews in magazines wether for MTB'ing or fishing are revenue driven. Therefore you will tend to find reviewers suprisingly always tend to favour products sold by shops / manufacturers that pay for advetisment in their magazine.

Anyone who believes different is very very mis-guided.
  • toasty
    toasty Posts: 2,598
    Well, just to add a counter arguement to that, having read something on the internet doesn't mean it's always true. Take every suggestion you hear on here with a pinch of salt and make your own mind up.