Giant Trance X4

Proutster
Proutster Posts: 785
edited February 2014 in Your mountain bikes
Hi All,

Another Noob here, been browsing the forum for the last few months but now feel that I’ve got something to contribute / would like your comments on.

Are you sitting comfortably? Then I’ll begin….

Started back into mountain biking earlier this year by digging my 15+ years old (I know it’s at least that old because I bought it when I was married and that seems like a lifetime ago) Ridgeback out of the shed and fettling it up. I changed the cantilever brakes for V-brakes, changed the handlebars & pedals and even stuck on a pair of Decathlon’s £29.99 suspension forks (not that they cushion much….)

P8190552-2.jpg

Since then I’ve ridden it off-road at least a couple of times a week, around Macclesfield Forest (anyone who knows Charity Lane – fancy going down it on the above?), around Ladybower (same question to anyone who’s been down the descent from Hope Cross towards the A57) and also around Hayfield (again, same question to anyone who’s done the descent from Ollersett down to the A624).

I’ve fallen off lots, pushed it up lots of hills (I think it’s made from cast iron) but have had an absolute blast!!

Someone told me to stop wasting money on it and to save up for a new bike….

And I’ve finally managed to persuade my company to join the Cycle 2 Work Scheme and bought this yesterday:

P8190555-1.jpg
P8190556-1.jpg
P8190558-1.jpg

Bought it from The Cycle Store in Congleton, who did a great deal (£845 = £150 off) and helped set it up correctly for me.

Can’t wait for the Helicopter Tape to arrive tomorrow so that I can protect that huge downtube and then get it properly dirty!! Planning a quick blast around Macc Forest to see how it goes.

The question is – will I have as much fun and laughs on this or should I throw it away and go back to the boneshaker?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667