Who Here Is A MAMIL?

Pufftmw
Pufftmw Posts: 1,941
edited November 2010 in Commuting chat
Read this article on the BBC Website

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-10965608

I would say that I am middle-aged @ 45 and with my recent new purchase of a roadbike for commuting, I donned some lycra shorts so I guess I could quallify but as a regular biker/commuter I feel that the anacronym is slightly unfair.

Anyone own up to being one?

Comments

• Being that I'm 25 and lycra free, I think I'm safe. While I am relatively new to this whole cycle commuting thing, I've been MTBing for years previous so that also counts in my favour I think.
    FCN - 10
    Cannondale Bad Boy Solo with baggies.
  • Agent57
    Agent57 Posts: 2,300
    Given the number of men aged 35-44 who are buying fancy-pants road racing machines, is this a 21st Century mid-life crisis? Has the silence of skinny tyres and carbon fibre framesets replaced the thunderous noise of motorbikes?

I've been riding road bikes in lycra since I was about 16, some 25 years ago. So it's nothing to do with any sort of "mid-life crisis" as far as I'm concerned. As for being a "mamil", being 41 I don't think I qualify. I don't think of 41 as "middle-aged". Clearly, it's not young, but when I think of middle-aged men, I think of someone around 50.

I did get my motorbike a few years ago though...
    MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)
  • Jay dubbleU
    Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159
    Think I'm probably an occasional OMIL :roll:
  • Agent57 wrote:
    Given the number of men aged 35-44 who are buying fancy-pants road racing machines, is this a 21st Century mid-life crisis? Has the silence of skinny tyres and carbon fibre framesets replaced the thunderous noise of motorbikes?