Should I have SPD's on my bike ????

Dickeniffer
Dickeniffer Posts: 68
edited August 2010 in MTB general
I have recently purchased a specialized epic carbon comp, and I feel I'm doing it no justice by using flat pedals. I've never tried SPD's before and years of trials riding have got me set in my ways. Any help would be appriciated!!
Specialized Epic FSR Carbon Comp (10)

Carrera banshee (10) the heaviest bike in the world, but my god is it strong....grrrrrrrrr

http://original.justgiving.com/richardeniffer

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    All personal preference really for the flatties vs SPD decision

I prefer SPD's
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • Tolk
    Tolk Posts: 775
    Ride what you feel comfortable using. You do realise you've just opened a tin of worms though, right?
  • *awaits yeeha*
  • surreyxc
    surreyxc Posts: 293
    the epic is cross country, so spd's should help give a little more power. I have just gone back to flats, I like the way they devleop skills, bunny hops etc, great for recovery .
  • sparrowlegs78
    sparrowlegs78 Posts: 2,583
    I've just ordered myself a new set of multi release cleats....been on flatties for over a year after scaring myself with single relase cleats by getting stuck in them coz I'm thick....I just fancy trying them again as climbing rocky stuff like Mastiles lane isn't easy on flatties, I get bounced off the pedals :(
    Caz xx
  • hoochylala
    hoochylala Posts: 987
    I have recently swapped from flats to SPDs can have really noticed an improvement in my riding - not entirely sure why, but I think its down to not really having to worry about my feet slipping off on rocky descents (I know people will say certain flats will stop this but I have never used any that really have).

Maybe do as I did - pick up a pair of cheap shoes and pedals from the classifides/eBay and give em a go - you never know, you might like it too! :)