SPD's power advantage....Myth?

Comments

• Shaggy_Dog
    Shaggy_Dog Posts: 688
    omegas wrote:
    Making any comparisons of pedalling dynamics when riding a road bike on the road and riding a mountain bike off road is so funny, even boarding on ridicules. :lol::lol::lol:

Why? I ride both, there are differences but there are more similarities. XC is very much like time trial riding. Pedalling a BMX, 4x or downhill bike has similarities to road and track sprinting, Sir Chris Hoy started off as a BMX racer. Will Longden is an animal on the track. Lance Armstrong is a very good mountain biker.
    I had to beat them to death with their own shoes...
    HiFi Pro Carbon '09

LTS DH '96

The Mighty Dyna-Sore - The 90's?
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    supersonic wrote:
    meanredspider

What do you mean by 'power'?

Rate of deliver of energy - measured in Watts

I'm a professional mechanical engineer with a degree in engineering. I work as an engineer. I'm a chartered engineer and a fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. I spend most of my spare time engineering my race car. I understand power and what optimises power in rotating systems. All of which is why I post in this thread. I don't give a stuff about what pedals people use but it irritates me to see so much crap posted.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    All that doesn't mean you don't make mistakes.

Have you read the studies I posted, and do you understand pedalling dynamics though?

I don't understand why lighter shoes will give you more power. You have not given enough info there. More torque and higher cadence? Explain. Or doyou mean more efficient?
  • snotty badger
    snotty badger Posts: 1,593
    Those red shoes are foul. No one would wear them if a non spd version was available..
    08 Pitch Pro
    14 Kona Unit
    Kona Kula SS
    Trailstar SS