Am i likely to make gains, plateau or just deteriorate....?

the_big_gun
the_big_gun Posts: 25
Hi All.

Just wanted some adivce / opinions really....

I've been cycling on and off for about 8 years now, with some rowing and triathlon thrown in for good measure, but have only just started commuting to work every day on the bike.

It's a 40mile round trip (20miles there, 20miles back), and by the end of the week my legs are pretty fried. I've only been doing this now for 3 weeks, so still very early days, but I have gone from doing maybe one or possible 2 rides a week to doing 10 rides of about an hour each.

I'm taking the whole weekend off completely, so a good 60hours between friday's trip home and monday's departure for work, which seems plenty; leaving me with fresh(ish) legs on the Monday.

My concern is that i do want to make gains in my speed as i'm planning on starting racing again (haven't raced since 2006), but i'm worried that, during the week, my legs are just deteriorating and deteriorating to the point where the hurt going up stairs on the thursday night/friday. Am i just destroying my legs to the point where i'm not going giving myself enough chance to pick up speed???

To give you some idea of my general fitness, i did a 10TT earlier this year and got a pb, whereas the last 10TT i did before that was a good couple of years ago now, so i'm fitter than i was, probably from the rowing...

I'm also a bit worried about over training...really don't want to get ill....maybe i'm just trying to hard eveyday...??

Any advice / word of experience / wisdom would be fantastic!!

THanks!

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    you will need longer than three weeks to adjust to a commute like that - more like 6-8 weeks, I would suggest. I would say keep at it. Once you have adjusted to the frequency/distance, start adding some speed work and then reap the benefits.. ;)
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173