Good road routes in the Chilterns...?

jacksondavis
jacksondavis Posts: 3
Hi, I'm new to bikeradar, and relatively new to road riding. I'm coming from a primarily XC background, and have been riding a mid geared fixed wheel road bike for almost a year now, but I've had my first proper geared road bike for about a month. I live in Nottingham, and have been enjoying the roads around here (plus a day in the peak district - beautiful!), but in August I'll be riding home to see my family and friends in Watford, Herts. At some point over the fortnight I'll be spending there, I'd love to get out to the Chilterns and spend a day in the hills.

Can anybody suggest any good routes of anywhere between 50 and 100 miles (depends how ambitious/fit I'm feeling!) around that area? I don't have a car, so plan on using trains to get there and back, so I'm also looking for some advice on where to travel to. I'm guessing High Wycombe will be my best bet!

Any advice would be massively appreciated, and I only hope I can return the favour soon enough.

Regards,
Jackson

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    I would get a train to Henley (or Twyford, if easier) and ride north from there. The area around Stonor, Stokenchurch, Chinnor, Wycombe, Marlow, Amersham, Wendover and Gt Missenden is comparitively hilly, I suppose.

But if you ride in the peaks now, I think you will be disappointed with the Chilterns. I took my bike back there last year, and I certainly was... ;)
  • fnb1
    fnb1 Posts: 591