First attempt with SPD's today in 30 mins

Comments

• cgarossi
    cgarossi Posts: 729
    edited May 2010
    Ok. Im not a physics expert but I beleive I do have a grasp of it:

I beleive it should look something like this:

DF = (DownwardResistance - DownwardPedalForce)
    UF = (UpwardResistance - UpwardPedalForce)

T = ((DR - UF) - DF) + ((UR - DF) - UF)

Where DF = Downward Force, UF = Upward Force, DR = DownwardResistance, UR = UpwardResistance, T = total power output.

I stand to be corrected, but no way does T = Down + Up
  • RealMan
    RealMan Posts: 2,166
    Why are you still talking about resistance? What has that got to do with anything?
  • cgarossi
    Because pulling up with one pedal removes resistance from the downward stroke. And vice versa. Which has an effect on total power output.
  • RealMan
    No it doesn't. The resistance is still there. But I still don't know why you want to talk about resistance.
  • bike-a-swan
    bike-a-swan Posts: 1,235
    I need to sit down and do a proper bit of work on this, but I'm currently running flow simulations which reduces my usable time to conveniently post length chunks between checking things. Until then, here's my tuppence worth on first impressions:

supersonic has a a good point regarding the fact that all the force you need to apply has to be reacted somewhere, and in this case that must be through your weight. The only thing that makes me think I'm missing something here- what happens if you cycle along sitting down (i know it's a different case), and only pedalling on the upstroke? The force is reacted by the saddle, not your weight. If this makes any difference in the full case, I don't know, as I said, not sure.

cgarossi, you're being unfair to realman. I think I agree with some of your posts, but I can't be sure because they're poorly explained. Writing something unclearly then insulting people when they don't understand them is not a good way to go about this sort of thing.