no shower @ work

spykes
spykes Posts: 31
edited October 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi guys just ordered my 1st bike, nothing fancy its a Ribble touring/audax 7005 frame (I think) Going to use it to commute when I get a bit fitter.

Only problem is that @ my work there are no shower facilities.
Anybody found a way round this?

I work in sales and dont want to smell all day and did nt really want to wash in the sink but may have to??? :cry:

Comments

• Aidy
    Aidy Posts: 2,015
    Decent wicking clothing, and changing as soon as I get in tends to work for me.

I work in IT though, it's not hard to smell better than my colleagues :)
  • I would suggest a merino wool base layer. The wool is naturally anti bacterial. It soaks up your sweat but doesnt seem to promote the same smell as say a helly hansen base layer.

I definitely find I am less stinky if I wear merino. In anything else the familiar "eau de tom cat" soon develops.

£1.25 for sign up http://www.quidco.com/user/491172/42301

Cashback on wiggle,CRC,evans follow the link
    http://www.topcashback.co.uk/ref/MTBkarl
  • MonkeyMonster
    MonkeyMonster Posts: 4,629
    do you work near a gym?
    Le Cannon [98 Cannondale M400] [FCN: 8]
    The Mad Monkey [2013 Hoy 003] [FCN: 4]
  • spykes
    spykes Posts: 31
    Sadly no gym near by and think a quick wash in a sink will have to do me then. not exactly a clean kitchen anyway with 6 men using it :?
  • Baby wipes... if you can bear it. Definitely use sweat wicking clothing, and take some baby wipes and deoderant to give yourself a clean off when you get to work.

Thats what I used to do when I went to the gym in my lunch hour!
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    Don't eat spicy food the night before
    Shower before you head out
    Wear clean cycling gear every day
    Wash your helmet (and your rucksack if you use one) regularly
    Wet wipes when you get in to work
    A quick squirt of deodorant
    Try to air dry your cycling gear before the journey home