Confused - Please Help

gb155
gb155 Posts: 2,048
edited April 2010 in Commuting chat
Last week I cycled a little over 100 miles and lost 4 lbs, This week I have already done 120 miles and I will finish on arounf 135 miles for the week, however the scales have not moved a single pound, now I have eaten the same this week as last week, gotten the same amouint of sleep etc and its not like I dont have the weight to lose ( I have another 5 stone to go at least if I base it on Gov guidelines) so why then in a week when I have cycled, further, faster and harder while eating the same have the scales not moved at all ?

Confused doesnt come close.

Gaz
On a Mission to lose 20 stone..Get My Life Back

December 2007 - 39 Stone 05 Lbs

July 2011 - 13 Stone 12 Lbs - Cycled 17851 Miles

http://39stonecyclist.com
Now the hard work starts.

Comments

• attica
    attica Posts: 2,362
    Perhaps (and I'm no expert) you're putting on muscle mass as you lose the fat.

My weight seems to fluctate very little at the moment but I can see that I'm definitely less flabby than I was three months ago
    "Impressive break"

"Thanks...

...I can taste blood"
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    Could be worse. Mine goes up sometimes. No idea why. Hope that helps, although clearly it doesn't.
  • suzyb
    suzyb Posts: 3,449
    Tell me about it :evil:
  • chuckcork
    chuckcork Posts: 1,471
    this week I'll clock up about 175 miles in commuting. I doubt I'll lose any weight at all, mostly because (I guess) I'm:

a) used to it, the easy bit of weight loss happened 2.5 years ago when I started proper commuting;
    b) hungry as a result, so I eat.
    'Twas Mulga Bill, from Eaglehawk, that caught the cycling craze....
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,414
    Two thoughts: having lost 4lbs the previous week, you have been lugging around 4lbs less so - in theory - doing slightly less work + as Attica points out, you may well have put on some more muscle.