Overtaking a roadie....

nstevo
nstevo Posts: 42
edited April 2010 in Commuting chat
I'm a newbie to this biking thing and recently bought a Trek 7.5FX for my 11 mile commute to work. I'm reasonably fit, so can pelt along at a fair whack. I'm assuming that there must be some etiquette for people on hybrids overtaking lycra clad people on roadbikes - as I did it yesterday and the comment I got at the next set of red lights was 'don't ever have the disrespect to overtake me on that piece of sh1t again'. Should I not overtake other bikes?

Comments

• lost_in_thought
    lost_in_thought Posts: 10,563
    Haha!

You should definitely overtake other bikes. Especially ones ridden by pillocks like that!

Refer yourself to the 'Silly Commuting Racing' thread. Do read from the beginning :P
  • Rich158
    Rich158 Posts: 2,348
    Tell the w****** that he obviously isn't good enough to get dressed up in Lycra and get on a road bike. What a tosser!!!!!!

There's no etiquette, I always give maximum respect to anyone who scalps me whatever they're riding
    pain is temporary, the glory of beating your mates to the top of the hill lasts forever.....................

Revised FCN - 2
  • I hope someone does that to me one day, they will have an spd moment shortly after :twisted:

£1.25 for sign up http://www.quidco.com/user/491172/42301

Cashback on wiggle,CRC,evans follow the link
    http://www.topcashback.co.uk/ref/MTBkarl
  • Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    Sorry but he sounds like a prize knob, end of story...
  • HebdenBiker
    HebdenBiker Posts: 787
    Errr, are there no allowances to be made for irony here?

I would assume the roadie was making a joke; one that acknowledged his own shortcomings and, by implication, tipping his hat to the fitness of the overtaker.
  • andyxm
    andyxm Posts: 132
    Errr, are there no allowances to be made for irony here?