Boardman Team Carbon - Small (50cm) vs Medium (53cm)

beedj
beedj Posts: 7
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
Apologies for such a dull first post but I'm about to acquire a Boardman Team Carbon via C2W and struggling to decide which size. I'm a newbie roadie but experienced MTBer.

I'm 5'7" (170cm) with 30" (77cm) inside leg. I've searched these forums and others, and tried various online calculators which all seem to come out inbetween at 51.5cm frame size !

My inclination would have been to go for Small and get longer stem if it proved necessary, but the Halfords advice at the bottom of this page is very definite in advisng somebody of my size to go for a Medium : http://answers.halfords.com/answers/402 ... stions.htm

Would really appreciate any comments, particularly from anybody who has a Small or Medium Boardman road bike and is of similar sizing to myself ....

Comments

• Garz
    Garz Posts: 1,155
    Hi beedj, I hope I may be able to help some..

I am 5ft 6 (almost 7 but cant round up :wink: ) and have the Boardman comp in small. Although I could fit on a medium, Im glad I chose the small as the stem would have been an issue for sure with the medium.
  • Samson1
    Samson1 Posts: 44
    I'm a very similar size and I would definitely go for the small. I ride bikes with a 53.5cm and a 54cm top tube and I think the reach on the medium would be too long.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    Def small. 8)
    Cycling weakly
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I'm 5'6" with a 31" inside leg and I would definitely go for a small.

I have a 51cm Racelight Tk and Epic had to work hard fitting an inline seatpost and a short stem to get that to fit me.
  • juankerr
    juankerr Posts: 1,099
    Go for Small. It's a 55cm top tube on the medium which is on the long side. I'm 5'10 and have a medium and I'd certainly not want it to be any longer.