The Role of Genetics in Endurance Cycling Performance

MatthewBulmer
MatthewBulmer Posts: 217
I'm pretty new to road cycling (2 years) having come into the sport from a powerlifting background. I'm very curious as to the role of genetics in one's performance as a cyclist.

As an amateur powerlifter it took me literally years of very hard training, good nutrition, etc, to even approach some respectable lifts. This was with the help of coaches and not just a 'tin pot' training programme I had copied from a magazine. As way of background, I'm of medium height and a pretty slender build (narrow ankles, wrists, hips, etc.) However, it was always a source of amazement and frustration to me that certain guys, having never conducted serious strength training before, could with as little as 9-12 months of training relatively easily bench/squat/deadlift 300/400/500 lbs. These guys shared 2 qualities. Firstly, they were naturally 'strong'. They had a thick build and large bones. Secondly, they had a tremendous ability to recover from very hard workouts and, hence, train more frequently (on a progressive basis) than others.

All this preamble leads me to ask the following questions:

1. Do genetic factors affect an individual's ability to perform as a road cyclist?

2. If so, which factors are they?

3. At what level do these factors come into play? For instance, I would imagine that the vast majority of people who use this forum either ride for enjoyment (sportives) or race at a pretty modest standard due to lack of time/quality coaching, etc. Even at this level, will some of the differences in performance between riders be attributable to genetic factors?