Recommend me a lock

redvee
redvee Posts: 11,922
edited January 2010 in Commuting chat
Payday this month will mean a much overdue lock for the bike but not 100% sure.

Looking at something from Kryptonite but that might change depending on the opinions voiced here.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Krypt ... 360023755/

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Krypt ... 360021015/

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/kry ... kryptonite

along with an extension cable, perhaps.

Need to replacethe ageing Squire Paramount soon.
I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.

Comments

• Kryptonite Mini Evo, absolutely love it!! It is a little heavy, but fits in jeans pocket, seems pretty solid, I have been using it for about 8 months, and its still protecting my pride and joys. Along with a 4 foot extension cable.
  • Kryptonite locks are good, but the keys are made from cheese. Mine snapped off in the lock the second time I used it, requiring a locksmith with an angle-grinder.

The locksmith said, "I'd get an Abus next time, they've been in the business for years, and they know keys". I did, and the difference is night and day. Apparently it's quite easy to make something nice and strong, but the quality of the Abus is better, meaning it's more reliable.

Your mileage may vary, but my Kryptonite Evolution series 4 was rubbish, and my Abus Granite Plus is superb.
  • +1 for Abus

Have the Granite X-Plus 54 D-Lock and a Kryptonite New York 3000 D-Lock (both with extension cables) and would go for another Abus every single time.
  • Fireblade96
    Fireblade96 Posts: 1,123
    If getting an Abus, get a decent one - the cheaper D-locks can be easily snapped with a bit of leverage. I know this to my cost, a new (itself an insurance replacement) bike was stolen first time I parked it in town, in spite of being D-locked to a large piece of street furniture with extension cable through front wheel.