Excellent Site

yr99jparkin
yr99jparkin Posts: 47
Check this site out: http://ridewithgps.com/

I've been considering getting an Edge 705, but my qualms were whether I would easily be able to access Google Maps (best digital road map source IMO) to plot routes i want to follow. Found this site.....its so good!

Really good intuitive interface all for free. Heres a youtube video showing it in action:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVR5mkYsCIE

Im brand new to sports GPS... so if this isn't as good as I think please let me know and offer any alternatives or existing software that is more capable.

J.P

Comments

• phil s
    phil s Posts: 1,128
    Thanks for that JP, very nice indeed. I've been using bikeroutetoaster for the past couple of years but this site looks really sweet and seems to function a tad faster. I also like the fact it shows the elevation just below the map in a more smoothed out fashion rather than the extremely spikey way toaster shows hills.
    -- Dirk Hofman Motorhomes --
  • GavH
    GavH Posts: 933
    Well maybe it's still a bit early for me but I didn't find that one bit intuitive at all. :?

Bikeroutetoaster.com and bikehike.co.uk use EXACTLY the same Google maps (plus others). The only difference between the two is that they never seem to agree on the elevation data, but that matters not as I know myself where the hills are!
  • I'm looking at getting a 705 end of the month.
    i've looked at a few site to get the feel of them and out of them all i do prefer the feel to this one.(ridewithgps)
    would like to know if any one uses this site with thier GPS units and what they think
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Only problem I've found with ridewithgps is the max speed on my rides. Todays ride says I topped out at 245mph :shock:
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • phil s
    Good effort. What was your heart rate at the time?