Dropping to flat

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Ages since I studied physics!

I am pretty sure the land at speed phenomenon is due to the way we lift the front end when going much slower and the weight we transfer.
  • yoohoo999
    yoohoo999 Posts: 940
    TommyEss wrote:
    yoohoo999 wrote:
    i'm a corporate lawyer

Boo... Hiss... And other assorted pantomime noises!

ha ha, nothing like a bit of prejudice! I actually act in the interests of the general public. I deal with the legals on the 2012 Olympics, hospitals, schools etc.

i actually get to help people which is cool
  • GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    yoohoo999 wrote:
    As I understand it, the bike would hit the ground with the same kinetic energy regardless of whether the rider dropped to flat or hit it at 100mph, provided that his y axis speed (ie the drop speed) was the same.

Therefore, if the kinetic energy is identical, surely all the difference in speed, or indeed technique in landing does is dissipate that energy by a different (and hopefully more efficient) manner. Down to the action of the suspension, rider position, rider movement etc.

Or am I missing something?

Yes, you are missing something. The bike isn't just being dropped vertically (y axis in the above frame of reference), you also have a horizontal component that means you are hitting the ground at some sort of diagonal (angle will depend on many factors). So, as mentioned above, you need to combine the two components.
  • yoohoo999
    why is my mass hitting the ground at an angle? my mass is travelling down the y axis, reaching a final velocity of 5.4m/s, my mass obviously hasn't changed, therefore why would this affect the kinetic energy calculation below?

KE = 1/2 (M * (V * V))
  • TommyEss
    TommyEss Posts: 1,855