Beginner Plateau

pimptovimto
pimptovimto Posts: 56
Hi I started riding earlier this year and thought I was making pretty good progress mostly the odd 20 miler during the week and then some bigger rides at the weekend I ride an MTB with some road tyres on it. Anyway the furthest I have ridden is 60 miles

Recently I started to commute to work which is 15 miles each way it takes me between 55 and 65 minutes mostly determined by the wind, I was hoping that I would start to see some improvements in all areas speed, power/effort, heart rate and breathing but really I have seen no improvement anywhere I seem to to take just as long and try just as hard as I did weeks ago, in fact I would say that my performance has dipped because I am shattered most days at the end of the 15 miles despite having ridden much further than this in the past.

Can anyone give me any advice?

Thanks

PV

Comments

• pangolin
    pangolin Posts: 6,283
    What do you eat during the day or after a long ride?
    - Genesis Croix de Fer
    - Dolan Tuono
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    I am shattered most days at the end of the 15 miles despite having ridden much further than this in the past.
    Do you fit any easy weeks into your training schedule? Sounds like you need to fit in some recovery time to me - typically take every 4th week easy to give your body time to recover and adapt to the training stimulus of your harder weeks.
  • pangolin wrote:
    What do you eat during the day or after a long ride?

I dont do eat anything special really if anything I'd say I concentrate more on fuelling before doing excersise. According to my Garmin my 15 mile ride to work burns 700kcals I dont know much about fuelling so I just drink some SIS stuff and maybe have some porridge in the morning during the day I just a couple of sandwiches and every other day a bake potato or something like that.