Are coaches worth it?

surista
surista Posts: 141
As anyone that has seen my posts recently knows, I'm a beginner cyclist. After reading a host of posts noting that coaching was the best way to navigate the early beginner stages, I have found a coach and am in my second week of training so far.

I am fully committed of course to putting in the work, and I am quite confident my coach is also committed to getting me to perform better. But - and maybe this is just because we live in the Internet age of Twitter and Blackberry and ubiquitous email, and instant communiation/feedback/gratification, I find I'm already feeling a bit frustrated at the lack of feedback given at my plan level. And part of me is wondering about the whole coaching business model as it seems to be at present, and the cost/benefit analysis of the coaching most amateurs get (i.e., the coaching that is available to most of us with finite disposable income). Let me explain.

Most of the training plans I've seen so far start out at c. 40-50 GBP a month, which seems pretty reasonable. However - at that low end, you get pretty minimal contact: an email maybe once or twice a month at best, and plans are put in place for anywhere from one to three months at a time.

At the level of service where you'd probably see more direct improvement directly related to the greater frequency of contact, I suspect that prices are simply too high for most non-professional amateurs. One of the more popular coaching programs in the US offers various plans for $200-300 a month for between 8 and 12 emails a month. If you want one-day turnaround of email - up to 15 a month - l and a phone call twice a month - be prepared to shell out $500, or over 300 GPB!