Confused about the latest clothing...

LouiseK
LouiseK Posts: 4
edited July 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,

I'm trying to get myself nicely kitted up as i'm new to MTB'in but i want to buy the latest stuff and i'm getting all confused which is which.

I want to buy a Gore Phantom Ladies Windproof Jacket, but i have seen Phantom I and Phantom II and i'm presuming the Phantom II is the latest - is there any way of knowing for sure?

What are the differences?

I thought maybe the colour would give it away but the more i google the more it doesn't seem to be true.

The Gore website just calls them Phantom.

Also, i heard that Gore will possibly be releasing a new version soon - does anyone know if that is true? When does the new cycle clothing get released? Is it the same time each year?

Thanks

Comments

• Daz555
    Daz555 Posts: 3,976
    No idea. Apart from shorts I haven't got any cycle specific clothing - it all just seems incredibly over priced.

Some very knowledgeable types will be along shortly no doubt,
    You only need two tools: WD40 and Duck Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use the WD40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the tape.
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    The only difference I can see is about a fiver.

That said, both seem massively overpriced for a windproof jacket - they aren't even fully waterproof. I'd want it to convert into a three-bedroomed tent with en-suite for the thick end of a ton. But I am a notorious tight-wad.

Usually new season stuff is released late summer/early autumn.

Very often though there's little to choose between one years item and the next. There may be small design changes and differences in colour but that's about it.

Aside from the odd self-indulgence, I usually buy my summer gear in winter and vice versa, when it's cheaper. I couldn't care less about having the latest colour or refelctive bit as long as it does its job.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue