Breathing masks

2»

Comments

• el_presidente
    el_presidente Posts: 1,963
    On the plus side though, add a pair of shades and you can beat the crap out of errant motorists and run over peds with impunity, they'll never pick you out in a line-up
    <a>road</a>
  • Headhuunter
    Headhuunter Posts: 6,494
    On the plus side though, add a pair of shades and you can beat the crap out of errant motorists and run over peds with impunity, they'll never pick you out in a line-up

True, helmet, shades and a face mask do make you look like an American footballer and cover every inch of your face
    Do not write below this line. Office use only.
  • biondino
    biondino Posts: 5,990
    A map forecasting NO2 pollution in London (from 2005). See any kind of pattern?

pollution1.jpg
  • I've been commuting for nearly 3 years now, about 12 miles each way right accross central London from SE to NW, about 50 mins give or take each way. Much of the journey is on busy main roads.

First year I didn't use a mask at all, but a few weeks after starting commuting regularly found I would get an irritating something-in-the-back-of-my-throat type cough for an hour or so after cycling.

Got fed up with it so thought I would give a mask a try. A mixed blessing really, although I have persisted with it as it has definitely stopped the cough, it has a lot of disadvantages.

So after nearly 2 years using one my experience is:

Pros:
    - Stops a lot of crap going into my lungs (just need to check the filter after 2 weeks to see that).
    - Anything that even reduces slightly the particulate nasties going into my lungs, is imho a Very Good Thing :-)
    - Seems to improve lung efficiency as they have to work harder due to the mask. Really notice this when riding without the mask at weekends
    - In cold weather stops your nose/chin/lips freezing

Cons:
    - Sweaty face, and inability to wipe your nose if it runs!