How far do you ride?

2»

Comments

• zanelad
    zanelad Posts: 269
    Hi Flasheart,

Great name, by the way. I found that when I started riding (purely to lose weight)it took a good few weeks before the weight started to move. The plus side was that I didn't put on weight, but nether did I lose any for a while.

I ride 16 miles most mornings and in the last 12 months have lost a little over 2 stone. My wife has noticed the diference in my silouette, and even the barber commented last week, so it must be true. If his comely young assistant had noticed I would've be better pleased.

Keep going, even though you may not see any improvement straight away, it will come.

My time has stayed constant at around 53 minutes, but I'm not interested in improving that, I ride for the exercise rather than pleasure.
  • Brian B
    Brian B Posts: 2,071
    My week day rides are around 30-40 max. Local weekend rides around 50ish but have been doing a few big hilly runs in the highlands/borders lately and some well over 100miles to gear up for the sportives.

Most miles ever done - Last years 140mile mega challenge with many 1000s of metres in climbing
    Brian B.
  • Tino4444
    Tino4444 Posts: 281
    I managed my first (flattish) 50 yesterday and I'm chuffed to bits. It seems about 3 hours is my realistic (pushing it) limit at the moment.

Snap! I did a 50 mile route last weekend in 3 hours and 2 mins. The route is fairly mixed in terms of Hills and flats.

I am currently in training for the GYBR in June but have so far not done a training ride which is equal to the 72 miles. The problem I have is not that I cannot manage it (I hope), but I cant really afford any longer than three hours out on the road per weekend due to family commitments (2 young kids).

Just hope that the extra 22 miles is not too much of a struggle for me on the day!!

Tino.
    Speciallized Allez 09...great bike shame about the wheels!!
  • sampras38
    sampras38 Posts: 1,917