Time Trial Basics

disgruntledgoat
disgruntledgoat Posts: 8,957
I've been riding for 10 years now, racing for 8 but decided, over the winter, to go completely back to basics on all my training and racing.

In the past i've rocked up to the Tuesday night TTs organised by the local club with no aero bars and no intention of doing anything other than a bit of speed training. This year, howver, in an effort to win what basically amounts to a mountain time trial at the end of the season (3 miles rolling followed by a 3 mile climb), i;ve bought some decent clip ons and will begin training specifically in June for that.

Tomorrow is my first TT in 2 years and my first with aero bars so my two major questions are

1) What are the "pointers" for getting a decent position on the bars. I'm planning to set them up tonight, so what should I be looking for when I do?

2) What works for you guys as a warm-up for a 10? bearing in mind i'm not taking a turbo or anything as I'm riding out to the start (all of 3 miles).
"In many ways, my story was that of a raging, Christ-like figure who hauled himself off the cross, looked up at the Romans with blood in his eyes and said 'My turn, sock cookers'"

@gietvangent

Comments

• 1. Well no "rules" of positioning for aerodynamics work for everyone but here are a few thoughts on a reasonable starting place via John Cobb (as summarised by Andy Coggan):
    - Acromion process at or below origin of latissiumus dorsi
    - Ears over elbows
    - Arms tilted up slightly
    - Saddle height such that cleat-pedal interface essentially parallel to ground when at bottom of stroke
    - Hands together, with elbows no wider than narrowest part of leg

You may find however that in order to attain that postion you need (i) special equipment and (ii) quite some time in order to adapt to it.

Also, wear a tight fitting skinsuit.