Clipping in/out help - spd-sl

boniver
boniver Posts: 8
edited January 2014 in Road beginners
I've got spd-sl cleats (yellow with float). this is my first time ever with a road bike and clipless pedals but dont know how to actually clip in. the cleat is just bigger than the pedal.

that back hook of the pedal seems able to be pushed back but its very hard to do and requires a lot of force just with my hand, i dont see how its possible using my foot.

is there some technique im just not getting? the pedals are shimano PD-R540

edit: could it have something to do with how i put in the cleats and screws in my shoe? their position or how tight i screwed them in? i did that myself and it could be whats wrong

pedal (top view)
pedal (side view)
cleats (bottom of shoe)
cleats (side shoe view)

Comments

• Big Ted
    Big Ted Posts: 330
    edited April 2009
    Hi

hook the front bit of the cleat under the front edge of the pedal, then push down with your foot - does that help - it certainly wont work if you are trying to put the back of the cleat in first. (i find it easiest with pedal say at 6 o clock position, and brakes held on hard!)

The springs are very strong and you will probably only be able to clip in with your shoes on your feet - ie not easy to push cleated shoes on by hand.

Hope this helps a bit - you'll get the hang of it and it is well worth the effort i promise!

good luck

ted
    Big Ted Rides Hard...
  • Philip S
    Philip S Posts: 398