Beginners guide to commuting?

Comments

• glebrus
    glebrus Posts: 44
    I have little experience with road bikes, have ridden some, but don't own any.

I hear a lot of warnings/complaints from local roadies about road tires 23mm 10 bar slipping on wet/non-pawed roads. On a hybrid, you can choose tires or wheels with different tires - to your mood, destination or weather.
    Most road bicycles don't have enough clearance for tires wider than 28.

I have seen broken rims and snake-bitten road tires on local roads.

The ability to install fenders is essential, so I choose a hybrid (though I tend to use slick tires 32, 28, 23mm) as we don't have many proper touring bikes on sale here. The hybrid has clearance in the frame and brakes.

Re steering, the drop-bar gripping point is generally in front of the front hub,
    while flat bar grips or even bar ends are behind the front hub. Steering and balance are different. The frame is longer, and steerer-to-grip distance is shorter in hybrid by 10-12 cm, for the same rider. The hybrid has longer distance between hubs, and it is less common to fly over the bar.

Hi-end custom hybrid isn't so bad to ride either.
  • glebrus
    Roastiecp wrote:
    A massive part of the bike comfort equation is in the tyres as these are typically the only suspension a bike has. Road bikes will aways suffer in this area as they usually have only 23mm of air space and types pumped to 8 bar to work properly. Other types of bike may have double that much air space, and at a lower pressure, so less sting and buzz is transmitted through to the contact zones.

Not exactly so. Road bikes tend to have carbon frames which absorb vibrations much better than allu frames with even suspension forks.
    sarajoy wrote:
    Flatbar Roadie Cons:
    Limited hand positions available
    Not so easy to crouch down to reduce drag
    Can be a hard ride as majority of rider weight tends to stay on seat

This is easy to overcome.